top of page

Stop Confusing Calligraphy, Hand Lettering & Typography

As you've probably noticed, graphic design terms can be a little complicated. This week, I wanted to quickly explain a few differences between calligraphy and hand lettering since they are often mistaken as typography. Understandably so, all the terms can be very similar to the average person.




Calligraphy

Calligraphy is the art of writing letters. Traditionally calligraphy requires specific tools such as a nib and ink. Writing in calligraphy involves using different angles and applying different amounts of pressure in order to create both thick and thin linework. This art takes a lot of discipline and patience. Interestingly enough, you can have beautiful calligraphy while having bad handwriting.



What is Cursive?

We all know what cursive is right? You know that thing we learned it in 4th grade and never used it again. I kid, I kid. Some of us use still use it!


Cursive is penmanship in which most of those characters are joined together. Similarly to handwriting, this is done generally for the purpose of making writing faster. The main differences between calligraphy and cursive include the speed at which it's done and intention. Cursive doesn't necessarily have an intentional style or different line thickness.



Hand-Lettering

Hand-lettering is the art of drawing letters. Recently, hand-letting has gained a lot of popularity. Hand-lettering includes multiple different styles such as script, serif, san serif, slab serif, and blackletter. Traditionally, this is done on paper, but with new technology, this can now be done digitally. I would consider this the most visually appealing style with the varying line widths.



What is Handwriting?

I wasn't going to include handwriting on the list, but I can see that hand-lettering can get mistaken for handwriting. Handwriting is unique to the individual. If you think about it, you are using the same thickness in line, applying the same amount of pressure and all the letters are on the same slope. Hand-lettering takes more time and patience because you are individually drawing each letter rather than scribbling down letters. As mentioned before, having good handwriting isn't a prerequisite to be a good hand-lettering or calligraphy artist.



Typography

Typography is the art of using letters. Before technology, all these concepts were simple to explain. Typography has to do with the arranging of type to make it legible, readable and visually appealing. This includes different typefaces, size, line length, letter spacing, etc.


I found a few pages that offer free hand-lettering worksheets you can print or download to follow along as I did on my iPad using Procreate. I've been trying to improve my hand-lettering, so I stumbled upon Mariah's blog mjcreativeco.com that includes great tips and tricks! I also found a lot of free worksheets on bydawnnicole.com to help practice.




I'll keep practicing my hand-lettering during quarantine. I hope you guys are staying home and staying safe!



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page